A Day of Rest

Woke up this morning and went back to sleep.  When I finally managed to climb outta bed, I wandered into the kitchen and opened the fridge.  The leftover spaghetti from last night looked very inviting.  I succumbed.  Breaking a bowl out of the cupboard, I filled it up with pasta, five bite-sized meatballs and a sprinkling of shredded parmesan.  Okay, more than a sprinkling.  I could barely see the meatballs for the cheese.  Poured a tall water, about 32 ounces, and went back to my bedroom.

After an exciting weekend of footy, I was anxious to see who won our weekly tipping competition:  Dallas or Donna?  Navigating to http://www.footytips.com.au/, I logged in.  Dallas.  Blah.  He’s up by four tips now and he’s closed the margin to three.  I’d been a cool hundred or more ahead on the margin and managed to get as close as two tips.  Not bad for a yank!    He’s native-born Australian, can watch local television and read the local sports page and I’m THAT close!  Yeah, I’m pretty amazing.

Once I determined I was going to have to tip more aggressively for the last four rounds and before I took a bite of my delicious spaghetti, I went into the bathroom.  This is where my scale resides.  I started at the gym last Tuesday, the day I met Troy, my personal trainer, aka Purveyor of Pain!  I’ll talk more about Troy later.  I spent three days at the gym: once with Troy (He gave me a taste of my future!) and twice to ride the elliptical rider for thirty minutes each.  I really don’t expect to see a change.  I’ve been hungrier than usual this week, only eating until satisfied, but still I know I ate more.  Tapping the scale with my big toe, watching the digital zeroes crawl across the screen as it zeroed, I stepped on.

2 2 5

I’m down to 225.  I lost 2.5 pounds!!!!  YES!!  When I got on the scale Sunday morning last week, I weighed in at 227.5.  I’m pretty certain I’m PMS’ing this week as well.  I should weigh MORE.  But, I don’t.

This is exciting.